Forum Discussion

11 years ago

Guidelines to improve maintainability and reusability of KDT scripts

Could anyone please send me a link to any documentation (papers, Case Studies, list of customers, etc) that reports the successful use of Keyword-Driven Test in a long-term test automation solution? I'm looking for tips, best practices, and guidelines as to how to improve maintainability and reusability of KDT scripts. Such scripts would be created during sprints in an Agile/Scrum methodology and then become part of a Regression Test that would be shared among users/teams located in different sites and time zones.

I've contacted SmartBear's support regarding this issue and they suggested that I tried this forum.

Thanks in advance.

8 Replies

•  

I don't know if I can answer your questions directly.  I'm fairly new with TestComplete, but I can give you a quick user story.  I would appreciate any feedback on flaws with this approach as I am developing this now.

I sort of inherited 2,000 of KDT scripts recently.  It turns out that the scripts did not do much verification.  They just walked through the application without really checking anything.  I was tasked with turning these lemons into lemonade. 

Rewriting the KDT scripts as textual scripts was out of the question.  There was too way much to translate.  Plus the testers who wrote and maintain the scripts are not very technical, so they would have problems maintaining textual scripts. 

One of the first things I learned about TC's KDT language is that it is too bulky and awkward for heaving coding.  It does not play well with complex things like database access.  Creating individual form field verifications is painfully slow.

The approach I am taking is to wrap each KDT script in a common textual script function that does a standard test setup, runs the KDT script using KeywordTests.ScriptName.Run(), and does a standard teardown.