Forum Discussion

mgroen2
Super Contributor
9 years ago

General discussion: Should Keyword driven testing capabilities be upgraded?

Hi,

this is a general statement to my fellow test, and QA engineers, and I would like to hear everyone's opinion about it:

I am a typical validation engineer, primary focused on the funtionality of the application (software) I need to validate and test. Therefore, I am using KDT (Keyword driven testing) as much as possible, and use scripting only when necessary. In most cases, KDT supports testing actions. However, in some situations, it is required to switch to scripting.

For example, when you want to write to Excel data files.

Now, my statement is, that TestComplete needs to be upgrading its KDT possibilities, so that this becomes even more versatile and useful, so it becomes more usefull for the audience groups consisting of validation engineers (like, functional testers, and other non-technical oriented tester), instead of the more technical test engineers. The latter ones are mostly much more familiair with coding and use TC's scripting capabilities, while the engineers more focused on validation rely more on KDT functionalities.

It is my personal opinion that, ideally, there is no difference in the things you can do with TC, either in KDT or in (one of the supported) scripting languages.

Would like to hear other peoples ideas on this....

Mathijs

16 Replies

dmiscannon
    Frequent Contributor

Don't forget the Script Extension capabilities of TestComplete. If you can script it, chances are good that you can create a KWT script extension. Script Extensions are a good way to increase the capabilities of Keyword testing.