Forum Discussion

rajesh_chidamba
Occasional Contributor
10 years ago

Temproary Variables Declaration

Hi 

I am a newbie to Test Complete. i have certain question that could help me to understand variables declaration with. (I am a Expert at QTP so if you could map anythign with QTP would be also more easy to understand)

1) I tried using Environment Variable in QTP , the sma eway i tried project and projectsuite variables in Test Complete, but i have the fllowing doubts

1- Environmentvariabels in QTP holds the value for the Particular run session, when the script stops it does not hold any value. (in short The scope is for every run session. there are enviornment variables which are constant which could be changed in Settings page and throught script too), But the projetc Variabels which i create at run time are getting it into the persistent varaible section of the project or project suite, so it stays for a every session with the same value with it for every run.

2 -  i just need to reset the values from the project or project suite variables section on the whole not by providing every varialbe name but if you have any option in script which could remove all variable or remove all variable values.(i dont want to have even any default variable or values, i am ready to create and delete variables and assign values at run time by script)

Please provide a code snippet . plesae find the code snippet for QTP below.

For QTP : Environment.value("TempVar") = "AAAAA" - this is created by the user at run time and it vanished at the end of the session.

Environment.value("OS") = "Windows XP" - This is the default variables or system info provided by QTP for the user to use it right away without need to write any code. which could be changed from the User defined Enviornment from the QTP settings.

Awaiting your Reply.

Thanks

RC

5 Replies

rajesh_chidamba
    Occasional Contributor
    Hi All